Puerto Vallarta Casa Kimberly Walking Tour

???????????????????????????????Sorry for how this looks, I uploaded a bunch of photos and not sure how to arrange them, and one turned sideways. They are in order of my self guided walking tour. Have you ever lived somewhere and never took the time to go see a historical landmark? I lived in Tucson Arizona for many years and never went to the Grand Canyon. It took me moving to another state to decide to visit it. I also don’t go to the beach alot, because I know it will always be there!

That’s how I have been in Puerto Vallarta. I go to work, I go home. Rinse and repeat! I have lived in Puerto Vallarta selling real estate for 2 1/2 years and realized the time has flown by so fast and there are a few things I have not done and decided to put them on my bucket list. SO starting last Sunday, March 10th I started with my first adventure! Have you heard of “Casa Kimberly”?

In 1964, when they filmed John Huston’s Night of the Iguana movie http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0058404/with Richard Burton, Ava Gardner, Sue Lyon, Deborah Kerr. Elizabeth Taylor came to visit Richard Burton on the set, along came the Papparazzi which helped make Puerto Vallarta famous. (Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor were married but not to each other)

Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor had 2 homes which connected to each other with a bridge painted pink. I had always wanted to see this but either didn’t have the time, busy working or just got lazy. Turns out that when I wrote it in my notes that I WILL do this, it came to be. So my doggy “Joaquina” and I had our showers and breakfast and started the walk. I live in Caloso which is a few blocks from Gringo Gulch where Casa Kimberly is on Zaragoza Street. I took photos along the way and below are the photos, pretty much in order, and some are when I turned back to look from where I came. There were quite a few others doing the same thing. I also discovered a bridge that I will discover later, I needed to stay focused on the task at hand. I had heard that someone has been trying to rebuild the homes, but I don’t know the real story. I did see some building materials inside the gate and took a photo of it. Who really knows the what and when to the construction details.

When I turned left onto the white handrailed bridge I did take a couple photos from that, then turned back to the Casa Kimberly on Zaragoza Street plan.

After I passed Casa Kimberly and continued walking, I came to a dead end. This is a narrow road and cars did drive through, and there is a way to turn right so where you will be behind the church, but I stayed on my course. There are 2 staircases on either side of the dead end. The views were beautfiful. I chose the left stairs. There was a guy sitting in the shade, we exchanged words in Spanish, he was very sweet. At the bottom, there is a bust statue of somebody that looked famous so I took the photo and looked him up later. Don Agustin Flores Contreras, here’s more info: http://visitpuertovallarta.com/blog/2012/12/agustin-flores-contreras/  My next photos I can see the plaza near the malecon and a nice destination that I had not planned on but was a nice treat…Starbucks!!! They were having a 2 for 1 special. Was very nice to sit and relax and visit with tourists. I love Starbucks. The small cup is water for Joaquina (http://www.facebook.com/#!/joaquinathedog) and a photo shows me sharing some whipped cream on a stick with her. She loves having a treat, and she is a magnet, people love walking up to her and taking her picture and saying hello. Tomorrow, Sunday March 17, I will do another fun thing and walk along the river near the mercados and will take photos. I will also find a place for green beer for St. Patrick’s day!

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

 

Robin Miller is a real estate agent with Prudential California Realty Vallarta Division in the South Office in downtown Puerto Vallarta.  She has been in the Mexico Real Estate Industry for nearly 7 years, assisting clients with their buying and selling decisions.

Robin is a member of AMPI, the Mexican National Association for Real Estate Agents.
Since licensing is not a requirement in most areas of Mexico, it is extremely important that a foreign purchaser uses an AMPI member for the real estate search and purchase transaction.  AMPI members are held to high ethical standards; attend continuing education classes, and keeping up to date on current issues so they can help guide their clients through the buying and selling process in Mexico.

Robin pays referral fees to anyone referring buyers!
Ask Robin, the “Mexican Beach Bum” for details about real estate in Puerto Vallarta or
Puerto Peñasco/Rocky Point Mexico.

See listings for sale in the Puerto Vallarta/Nuevo Vallarta/Bay of Banderas area:
Puerto Vallarta and Riviera Nayarit MLS

She can be reached at:
Prudential Office: U.S. (310)-683-0051
Skype: U.S. (602) 399-7141
Mexico Cell:  011-521-322-164-2655

View Homes For Sale-Click Here

robin@mexicanbeachbum.com
www.mexicanbeachbum.com
www.youtube.com/mexicanbeachbumtv
www.facebook.com/mexicanbeachbum
www.twitter.com/mexicanbeachbum